1151 Valley Mall Parkway, East Wenatchee, WA 98802

509-884-7191 / 1-800-503-7990

Meaghan Vibbert
Public Information Officer
(509) 881-2221
News Release - 12/9/2002

Douglas PUD Commission Meeting Report

Douglas County PUD Commissioners Lynn Heminger, Mike Doneen and Jim Davis executed the following actions during the December 9, 2002 Commission meeting held at the Bridgeport Office:

Authorized a renewal with Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. The renewal premium for general liability and Washington Stop Gap policies is $112,561 and reflects an increase of $23,796 from 2002 due to market conditions and increased exposure. The renewal premium of $46,355 for the automobile liability policy reflects an increase of $8,984 from 2002. (02-253)

Approved participation in certain line items for the Public Generating Pool Budget for 2003. Douglas PUD’s share of the costs for 2003 budget for consulting and other general expenses did not change from the 2002 budget.(02-254)

Recognized that the Washington Public Utility Districts Association elected Douglas PUD’s Commission President, Lynn M. Heminger, as the Secretary –Treasurer of the Association for 2003. The election was held at the Association’s 66th Annual Meeting in Seattle on December 5th. Election to the Secretary-Treasurer position traditionally is the first step in the road to becoming President of the Association. Commissioner Heminger was elected by his fellow Washington State PUD Commissioners. The Washington PUD Association works for the benefit of PUD customer-owners by coordinating the advocacy activities of the state’s PUDs. It is a vital resource for sharing information between PUDs and for coordinating cooperative activities.

Lynn’s election continues a long-standing tradition of strong Douglas PUD involvement in the Washington PUD Association. Six Douglas PUD Commissioners have previously served as officers of the Association, eventually serving as President. The leadership involvement began with Phillip D. Terry who held the office of President in 1938. Terry’s example was followed by George Hamilton in 1956, Lloyd McLean in 1968, Howard Prey in 1973, Mike Doneen in 1977 and T. James Davis in 1993. Commissioner Heminger will work his way through the chairs, eventually becoming the Association’s President in 2005.

“I am proud to have the opportunity to serve in a leadership role for the Washington PUD Association,” said Heminger. “Douglas PUD has been a strong supporter of the Association since its formation. I am honored by the support and trust offered by my fellow PUD Commissioners across the state of Washington.” Commissioner Heminger was elected to his third term on the Douglas PUD Board of Commissioners in November of this year.

For additional biographical information please refer to the District’s website at www.douglaspud.org